The law has been on the books since 2010, but Super Speeder tickets are still issued rather frequently, so let’s take a look at the law.
The ‘SuperSpeeder Law’ is designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who’ve been endangering other motorists and ignoring warnings to slow down. On average, there’s a speed-related death-a-day in Georgia, according to the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services.
A $200 state fee is added on to any driver convicted of :
- speeding at 75 mph or more on a TWO lane road; or
- speeding at 85 mph or more on ANY road in Georgia (like an interstate)
The fees are tacked on to local and county fees already in place.
If a driver does not pay a SuperSpeeder fee, an additional $50 fine is added and the driver’s license will be suspended.
Fees collected under the ‘SuperSpeeder Law’ are used to fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system where approximately sixty-percent of all trauma-care-patients are crash-related.
Attorney Eric C. Crawford explains the Georgia Super Speeder law, who it affects, what the penalties are, and how to avoid the trap.